S.T.A.L.K.E.R. 2: First Glimpse via New Screenshot - Rely on Horror

S.T.A.L.K.E.R. 2: First Glimpse via New Screenshot

The developers of the S.T.A.L.K.E.R. series on Monday released a brand new image via their Twitter page for their upcoming follow-up, S.T.A.L.K.E.R. 2. So far, it’s only one screenshot but it hints at a larger, supernatural world set in the familiar post-apocalyptic nuclear wasteland the series has become known for.

The screenshot depicts a cold landscape populated by the rusted-out chassis of cars set against the dreary backdrop of a wooded forest. In the midground of the shot a strange, iridescent energy distortion is visible, possibly some sort of dimensional anomaly or new mutated entity. Details are scarce at the moment, but the developers have promised to release more tidbits throughout the year.

S.T.A.L.K.E.R. 2 first screenshot

In a message to their fans, the developers also said:

Greetings, Stalkers!

Thirteen years ago we released S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl.

The world was never the same after that. Millions of players rushed into the Zone. Driven by the desire to uncover mysteries, you overcame difficulties, hunted for treasures, fought monsters and joined factions.

You changed to become the real Stalkers.

You made this day forever special.

Being inspired by everything you do (including arts, stories, cosplays and mods), we fully understand we can’t let you down. The second chapter of the S.T.A.L.K.E.R. saga will be our most ambitious game so far. It will live to the legendary legacy.

A lot of you are joining social isolation now. That’s why today, on a very special occasion, we are ready to slightly uncover the mystery of what we are working on. This is the first glimpse of S.T.A.L.K.E.R. 2.

Consider it as our humble present, with more to come in 2020.

Initially released in 2007, the first game in the series, titled S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl was a first-person shooter survival horror game developed by Ukrainian video game developer GSC Game World for PC. The S.T.A.L.K.E.R. series of games (which stands for Scavengers, Trespassers, Adventurers, Loners, Killers, Explorers, and Robbers), is set in the area surrounding the Chernobyl disaster site, known as the Zone, in an alternative reality where a second explosion occurs at the Chernobyl Nuclear power plant sometime after the first and causes strange changes in the surrounding areas.

Although we’ve gotten to play the Metro series in the meantime (another set of post-apocalyptic first-person shooter games developed by some ex-members of the S.T.A.L.K.E.R. team) the last official S.T.A.L.K.E.R. game, Call of Pripyat (which was the third in the series) was released in 2009, so it’s been a while since we’ve gotten a proper sequel.

For more information and to keep up to date on all the latest announcements, check out the official S.T.A.L.K.E.R. 2 site. The S.T.A.L.K.E.R. trilogy is currently available on Steam for those wanting to brush up on the series.

Support us on Patreon for Ad-Free Browsing & More!
Support Us



Advertisment ad adsense adlogger